Continuing to develop leadership skills, the Life ScoutLife Scout Badge rank is earned by fulfilling additional leadership positions, service hours, and merit badges. A Life Scout is expected to be a role model and leader in the troop, providing guidance to new scouts and helping the troop however he can. Being a good leader can only be learned by doing and troop leadership positions allow the scout to make decisions, lead discussions, and encourage others. The Life rank requires that the Scout serve in a position of responsibility and perform community service.

Life Scout rank requirements:

  1. Be active in your troop and patrol for at least six months as a Star Scout.
  2. Demonstrate Scout spirit by living the Scout Oath (Promise) and Scout Law in your everyday life.
  3. Earn five more merit badges (so that you have 11 in all), including any three more from the required list for Eagle.
    ___________________________________ (required for Eagle)*
    ___________________________________ (required for Eagle)*
    ___________________________________ (required for Eagle)*
    * Note: A Scout may choose any of the 15 Eagle-required merit badges in the 12 categories to fulfill requirement 3 (above). E.g., earning both Emergency Preparedness and Lifesaving is perfectly acceptable here.
  4. While a Star Scout, take part in service projects totaling at least six hours of work. These projects must be approved by your Scoutmaster.
  5. While a Star Scout, serve actively for six months in one or more of the positions of responsibility listed in requirement 5 for Star Scout (or carry out a Scoutmaster-assigned leadership project to help the troop).
  6. While a Star Scout, use the EDGE method to teach a younger Scout the skills from ONE of the following seven choices, so that he is prepared to pass those requirements to his unit leader’s satisfaction.
  • Second Class – 7a and 7c (first aid)
  • Second Class – 1a (outdoor skills)
  • Second Class – 3c, 3d, 3e, and 3f (cooking/camping)
  • First Class – 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d (first aid)
  • First Class – 1, 7a, and 7b (outdoor skills)
  • First Class – 4a, 4b, and 4d (cooking/camping)
  • Three requirements from one of the Eagle-required merit badges, as approved by your unit leader.
  1. Take part in a Scoutmaster conference.
  2. Complete your board of review.